GUEST REVIEWS

★★★★★ 5/5 gorgeous mix of modern and traditional Balinese architecture

Villa Puri Naga Toya, located in the mountains 40 minutes drive north of Ubud, is a gorgeous mix of modern and traditional Balinese architecture, one-of-a-kind antique furnishing, and stunning jungle and mountain views. Needless to say we absolutely loved out time there. My family and I, a party of five, stayed there for three weeks for Christmas and NY. We love Bali and enjoy coming back every year, this time however we wanted to escape the bustle and noise and really relax in peace and tranquility. Pamela’s villa was just what we wanted. The AirBnB listing really does not do this villa justice, I recommend checking out their website for a fuller picture of just how relaxing, luxurious, and tranquil it is. Beyond the venue itself, it’s the staff which really make the experience unforgettable. Our crew of six (including the driver) were everything we could have wanted and more – fun, friendly, genuinely loverly, and caring. We’ll be back to Villa Puri Naga Toya just to see them again. If only we could have bought them all home with us. Thanks Pamala, Wayan, and the rest of the team for such a loverly experience. We’ll be back to see you soon. Take care.

Sean
Stayed Jan 2019
Published Jan 3, 2019

★★★★★ 5/5 Perfect location and great staff

We stayed in Puri Naga Toya for one week in August, 2018. We were a group of 5 adults and 4 kids. All of us enjoyed the stay very much.

Payangan is in a rural area about 40 min. drive North of Ubud. The view from the garden down to the river is fantastic. The climate is a bit cooler than in Ubud, but fine for us.

There is free daily transport to Ubud and return, which we used most of the days.

The owners furnished the house and garden with a lot of attention to detail and many antiques from their private collection. Pamela and Royal, thank you again for letting us stay in your home!

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wayan, Made, Putuh and Agung, thank you for making our stay so enjoyable! We hope to return some day.

The house is ideal for two families. If you like to stay in an extraordinary environment away from the crowded tourist spots, this is the place to be.

Andreas and family and friends

Andreas J.
Stayed Aug 2018
Published Sep 3, 2018

Owner’s Response:

Deer Andreas,

Thank you so much for your comments. Again, it was our pleasure to have you stay at our home, and would love it if you would come again.

I am impressed by your schedule in Bali, and wish all our guests had a similar experience in Bali.

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela and Royal

★★★★★ 5/5 A Trip to Beautiful Bali

This property was absolutely beautiful. The scenery from this location was also very beautiful as is the drive to get there. And the staff was very nice also. They arranged for a driver for us – and believe me one is necessary in Bali. All of Bali was beautiful as well as the people there. I would go back in a heartbeat if it is possible in the future.

Paula and Robert K.
Stayed Jul 2018
Published Jul 31, 2018

Owner’s Response:

Thank you so much Paula and Robert for your kind comments. All of us at Puri Naga Toya enjoyed having you stay with us, and look forward to your next visit! Missing you …

★★★★ 4/5 Family holiday in jungle

We (2 families with 9, 8, and 6 year old boys) spent the second part of our Bali vacation in Puri Naga Toya for 5 nights. That gave us a good view on different aspects of Bali but also on different villa rental procedures. After staying one week in Jimbaran area Puri Naga Toya, in the middle of jungle, certainly impressed us. The villa and surrounding garden was amazing, giving us total privacy and room to rest and enjoy. Villa and garden contained many fine details which showed that a lot of time have been spent on creating this spot. Even our young buys were impressed by the place. We also appreciated the possibility to walk around the neighborhood, and that way got a glimpse on how common people live in this area of Bali. Seeing rise fields and fruit and coffee farming ect was very interesting.

The property itself was very well kept and the property supervisor Wayan Sir with rest of the staff took very good care of us. They were always ready to help even before we were really asking for it. Still it felt that we had our privacy. Thank you so much Wayan!

Only thing to which we were not totally happy was the communication with the owner prior to trip. We did not got precise answers and thus, have to admit, were still little bit concerned while travelling to the villa. Also, all the information in homeaway pages about the villa was not totally correct as transportation from/to airport was not included to price while stated so in the pages.

As the place is in the middle of jungle there are no places were you can eat (if not considering locals own very small eating places) or shop (only very few very small village stores), so you are depended on the services of the villa which excluding breakfast were with extra pricing. Menu was sufficient in variety but nothing spectacular in taste or size of the dishes. For us, it was most important that menu contained dishes that our boys ate with good appetite and Wayan was so kind to arrange ice cream from them as dessert. We also brought our some of own grocery, and using the villa’s kitchen was very easy and staff helped us also there.

So with this place you get you own privacy, unique housing and environment and very good staff services. For seeing others parts of Bali or going some particular places you need your own car or arranged driver/car. To have unique holiday experience and life long memories, this is the place to consider.

Susanna N.
Stayed Jan 2018
Published Jan 31, 2018

Owner’s Response:

Dear Susanna,

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed yourselves; including your boys! The Villa and surrounding garden were designed to give you privacy, and room to rest and relax in. The staff are really your extended family on holiday, and I will tell them how much you enjoyed them.

Suzanna, it is a shame about these communication breakdowns. I am sorry. I find more and more that people don’t really read the description, or the notes I write them with my explanations. It was an honest miscommunication between the two of us, and I can only say that no two of us are alike. Puri Naga Toya is not for everyone.

I have taken your suggestions with positivity, and will remember them in the future for improvement.

Warm tropical regards,

Royal and Pamela Rowe

★★★★★ 5/5 Highly Recommended!

First of all, we would all like to thank Pamela for the incredible hospitality! We have had an amazing time in this villa! The service has been nothing short of excellent. The staff have been very friendly and hospitable.

The villa was always clean by the time we return and the views from the villa are truly spectacular!

The furniture is beautiful, the swimming pool is great and we all loved the breakfast that has been served to us! It is a shame that we have only been here for 4 days, we really wish that we could have stayed longer.

We would all absolutely recommend this villa to friends and/or family. Whether it was for holiday purposes or for other occasions such as honeymoons!

Once again, we thank you so much for the hospitality and we hope to return to this villa once again when we return to Bali! Thank you and God bless you!

Muna f. kuwait
Stayed Aug 2017
Published Aug 15, 2017

Owner’s Response:

It was a pleasure to have you. Thank you for your kind remarks, and I do hope you will return.

Royal and I thank you for taking the time to tell us what you enjoyed! Our staff join us in sending you our appreciation. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Royal and Pamela Rowe

★★★★★ 5/5 A fairytale

If you are looking for an amazing experience this is the place. The photos do not do the place justice. It is absolutely gorgeous; jaw dropping stunning. Pam was a dear to work with and helped answer all of our questions. The staff at the villa were professional, supportive yet never intrusive. As we walked around the neighborhood the locals invited us in to see their crops, gave us fruit and related us like family. An amazing experience and you definitely need to stay here!

Tamara B.
Stayed Jun 2017
Published Jun 21, 2017

Owner’s Response:

Dear Tamara,

We are all so happy you enjoyed yourselves, and got a chance to FEEL THE REAL BALI! It sounds like you had a blast.

I agree with you, the people in Bali are very genuine- and know how to make a family feel welcome and at home. The VIEWS are beautiful – I also enjoy watching how they change in a single day.

Thank you so much for all your patience and I do hope you will return.

Warm tropical regards,

Royal and Pamela

★★★★★ 5/5 Oasis of tranquility with spectacular views

I stayed here for 5 nights while I attended the Ubud Writers and Readers Festival in Oct. The villa is located 40 minutes from Ubud and it was a wonderful oasis to come back to after a busy day of festival happenings. The villa has been thoughtfully planned architecturally to take full advantage of the breathtaking view and it was lovely to wake up each day to that view and the fresh cool mountain air, it’s quite an elevation. And no mosquitos! The owners have an extensive collection of antique furniture, paintings, books (including an amazing library!) and objet d’art that have been lovingly collected over their years in various parts of Asia and are displayed in a fashion that does not make the villa feel like a museum but rather a luxurious Aladdin’s Grotto, with each new treasure waiting to be discovered. The gardens are equally beautiful and it was nice to have the choice of where to dine (inside or outside) each morning or evening. The amenities are luxurious and the food was delicious. Everything was very clean and the bed linen and robes are very luxurious and comfortable. Nothing was ever a trouble to the staff, everything is done in a professional way with beautiful smiling faces in a sincere manner. Very unobtrusive also. Booking was equally as easy and professional. Do not worry about the location being out of the way, that is one of the best things about the villa, and a lovely driver was arranged for me for several trips, he was very courteous and professional. I regretted not spending more time just enjoying the villa as I had a busy schedule at the festival and will come back to enjoy some quiet time at the pool and the garden next time. Thank you Pamela and Royale for a wonderful stay.

Dianne B.
Stayed Oct 2016
Published Nov 6, 2016

Owner’s Response:

Thank you for you kind words and for staying at Puri Naga Toya! We enjoyed your visit, and hope you will return.

Warm tropical wishes from all of us,

Royal, Pamela and our staff

★★★★★ 5/5 A wonderful and magic place in the middle of Bali

This place is more than we can describe with words. The location, the view, the garden, pool, pond and the whole interior are magic. We stayed only for one week. The staff looked very well after us and we felt absolutely spoiled. Far away from Bali´s tourist centers you can relax and enjoy the beautiful nature in a very luxurious villa. We used the villa as a place for an australian-german-family-reunion. Absolutley great for us adults and the young kids. The teenagers missed a bit the touristy things (shops etc.) because it´s a bit of a drive to the center of Ubut (min. 40 min.). But every tour we booked picked us up at the place and the daily free Taxi-fare to Ubut felt familiar after a couple of times. We have to thank you Pamela and Royal to share your beautiful place with us and have to say thank you to all members of the staff. They are great people. The Webster Family – Black Forrest – Germany

Neil & Elke W.
Stayed Aug 2016
Published Sep 18, 2016

Owner’s Response:

Dear All-

Thank you so much for the kind words. We loved having you stay with us and hope you will return!

It’s always a pleasure to hear what you enjoyed, and glad you got a chance to see the “real Bali”.

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela and Royal & Staff

★★★★★ 5/5 Beauty and friendliness in the center of Bali

Far away from the noises and traffic of Kuta and Ubud Puri Naga Toya is an island of beauty, friendliness and silence. The view from the house is amazing, the house itself is spacious and full of beautiful statues, paintings and furniture. The staff is kind, helpful and a source of information. They cook delicious meals and are never tired of fulfilling the guest’ wishes. Here you can relax and enjoy Bali as it used to be. We discovered that good old jam karet (‘rubber time’ in Indonesian language) only existed at the side of the guests. The staff – including the driver – was always strict in time.

Avoid Ubud as much as you can, or go early and rent yourself a bicycle or a motorbike to check out the little villages surrounding Ubud. Take a walk from the house and visit the kampungs in the neighborhood. Everybody is nice and smiling and you might be invited for a cup of tea or a meal. Enjoy!

Roos W.
Stayed Aug 2016
Published Aug 19, 2016

Owner’s Response:

Thank you all so much for staying at Puri Naga Toya! You are experienced travelers, and understood the “beauty” Bali has to offer – as it used to be.

We are so glad you were so happy with your stay – and all the staff want to thank you and hope you will return someday.

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela and Royal

★★★★★ 5/5 paradise high in the clouds

I almost cried as i walked into the beautiful property and saw the amazing view that awaited us. Surrounded by jungle with three volcanos playing peekaboo behind the clouds. The property is stunning and the house so homely yet huge. It was so nice to be away in our own little paradise. The staff are truly amazing and from the minute they greet you with their beautiful smiles they are constantly nurturing everyone. Wayan and Made we miss you! The christmas lunch/dinner they made us will forever be one of our favourites. We will try to return one day….

El M.
Stayed Dec 2015
Published Jan 18, 2016

★★★★ 4/5 Serenity away from the tourist trail

The property is charming, away from the tourist trail with wonderful unspoilt views of the mountains and verdant forrest. The house staff are very helpful indeed. Use of the driver is an absolute must as the property is roughly 40 minutes above Ubud. The kitchen is extremely clean and we did not once get any stomach problems.

Jonathan M. London
Stayed Jul 2015
Published Sep 9, 2015

Owner’s Response:

Thank you for posting this review. We are happy you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again.

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela J Rowe

★★★★★ 5/5 Paradise on earth

We were two families of four with kids from 8 to 16 yrs. We enjoyed the stay at Puri Naga Toya very much! The place remains amazing, clean and comfortable, staff were efficient and helpful, their surprise dinner full of delicious local flavor conquered us and we promised ourselves that next time, we will ask the surprise diner every evening ^.^

The daily shuttle to Ubud city was very convenient, the driver speaks good English, he was also very helpful, always on time and nice.

All in all, kids had super fun time inside and outside of the villa: swimming pool, garden exploring, dogs walking and playing, fish feeding, neighborhood visiting, shopping, Bali Marina and Safari with waterpark, quad driving in the rain forest, elephant riding, Bali chocolate, coffee and tea plantation visiting… They tested different Bali coffee (Moca is yummy and black Bali coffee yakee), black and milk chocolate ( no comment cos they were too busy eating), snake fruit, local spicy noodles ( they loved despite the spices )… played numerous games in the garden… Mums did loads of shopping, daddies had great relaxing time: power walk in the wild nature, local beer and spa in the villa…

After 10 days, kids asked for more but the villa was already booked by another group…

Anonymous
Stayed Feb 2015
Published Feb 28, 2015

Owner’s Response:

Thank you for kind words, and we do hope you will return. I am sure others will enjoy your comments that you shared, and we thank you for staying at Puri Naga Toya.

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela

★★★★★ 5/5 Wonderful home and hospitality

Our stay at Purinagatoya is beyond words. When we arrived it was quite late. We were greeted by a wonderful dinner and an entire group of smiling faces. The following days were no less wonderful. The property is absolutely fantastic. In my opinion the photos on the web listing do not do it justice. The grounds are very well kept and the layout is something from the lifestyles of the rich and famous. The property is very spacious and provided enough diversity for the three children to embark on adventure after adventure. Every piece of furniture and all the accompanying décor are each unique in their own way and have been placed with a great deal of love.

I really cannot say enough about the hospitality and friendless of the staff. They assisted us with everything from booking transportation, to cooking, to booking entertainment venues and restaurants; and did so with professionalism and great care. They really were invaluable in making our stay a fantastic one.

A true gem is the restaurant just next door. Good food in a good setting.

I would and will recommend this property to any and all that want to go to Bali for a few days of R and R!!!

Thank you so much for making us feel at home while we were away from home.

Anonymous
Stayed Feb 2015
Published Mar 1, 2015

Owner’s Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do try very hard to make our guests have a “true Balinese” experience. The staff is like family members, and we are always pleased to hear that they are doing such a good job.

We hope you will return, and maybe on your next visit we our “outdoor dining pavilion will be completed. Something to come back for!

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela and Royal

★★★★★ 5/5 Breathtaking!

We had the most wonderful time in this Villa! The Villa is even better than pictured,(If that’s possible!) more comfortable than one can imagine and is equipped with the sweetest staff you would want to spend time with. The airport transfer and daily shuttle to Ubud made it easy to enjoy both this lovely mountainside Villa and the shops, shows and restaurants in Ubud. The included breakfasts were delicious and the never ending coffee and tea were enjoyed everyday. We had a cooking class, massages and wonderful conversations with the lovely staff that we wanted to bring home with us. We consider all of the staff as friends and we will return!

Lisa B. Battenville, NY
Stayed Dec 2014
Published Jan 11, 2015

Owner’s Response:

Thank you for your wonderful and kind words. It’s always nice to hear what our guests enjoy, what works for you and your family. We hope you will spread the news around to all your friends – and we look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela

★★★★★ 5/5 Perfect!

This was the first time back to my birth country of Indonesia in over 40 years and as a retired travel agent, it was crucial to me that the accommodations were perfect. I needed to immerse my husband and two adult children in all the wonderful culture and people that is Bali and SE Asia. This Conde Nast suited Villa fulfilled that goal perfectly. The included daily shuttle to Ubud with driver and tour guide, Made Darmawan, was a delight and we consider him a family friend as we do the entire Villa staff. It was wonderful to have the option of the daily shuttle to Ubud (bring an extra suitcase for your purchased treasures…the prices are stunningly low when you bargain!) or to stay at the Villa and relax by the pool with fresh mango smoothies. Each bedroom was sparkling clean as were the bathrooms, common areas, grounds, koi pond, pool and kitchen. Each and every meal consumed at the Villa was restaurant worthy and exceptional. A cooking class, massages and a full day driving tour (extra cost but so, so very reasonable) rounded out the perfect vacation! Thank you Pamela and Royale for filling your Villa with treasures for all to admire and appreciate. And yes, I’m referring to your entire staff. Please hug them for me!

Lisa B. Battenville, NY
Stayed Dec 2014
Published Jan 7, 2015

Owner’s Response:

Thank you so much for the stunning review. The staff are thrilled with the things you wrote, and we all hope you will recommend us in the future to all your friends.

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela J Rowe

★★★★★ 5/5 An excellent getaway

We had stayed here in this villa for our honeymoon.

This was the first time I had booked a villa through VRBO and I was very skeptical initially as to how this stay would turn out. Contrary to my fears, the villa, the views and the service all turned out to be excellent. This is really a hidden gem.

This villa has the best view in the area. Its set up in a quiet village with rice fields on one side and the tropical forest on the other side. We checked out the views in four seasons and bali viceroy. This one beats them all.

We went on a honeymoon and we were two of us in the whole villa. We loved the seclusion away from all the touristy stuffs. Also this villa can house 8 people atleast if not more. It will be great for a family get together as well.

Special note of appreciation to Wayan and Made for the excellent service. We loved the breakfast here. We were vegetarians and found good veggie entrees for dinner. Cooks also customize the entrees for your needs.

Weather is quite pleasant here as this villa is perched on a cliff. Also, there are no mosquitoes here due to the altitude.

Suggestion:

The master bedroom windows overlooking the valley/forest shall have curtains for added privacy.

Janakiram S.
Stayed Dec 2014
Published Jan 15, 2015

★★★★★ 5/5 ABSOLUTELY MAGICAL

We celebrated our 20-year wedding anniversary in July with a five-day stay and a vow renewal ceremony at Puri Naga Toya. We were awed by the pictures of Puri Naga Toya before we arrived, but even we had no idea how wonderful our time there would be.

As many people have noted, Puri Naga Toya is a veritable art museum of a home, filled with exquisite antique furniture, paintings, drawings, statuary, rugs – even vintage light fixtures that have been rewired. Puri Naga Toya also sits in the most beautiful ridge top mountain setting one could imagine, surrounded by lush gardens and landscaping. But as many people have also noted, it’s the staff that truly makes this place shine.

Wayan, Made, Agung, Putu, Dolar and Agung were all, without exception, warm, friendly, and genuinely caring. We chatted about our kids, Bali, the World Cup, the hilariously cute resident Daschunds “Katherine” and “Lisa” (who stay in the back if you’re not crazy about dogs) – anything that came to mind. For our vow renewal ceremony, the staff shopped for my flowers, set up temple umbrellas, made fruit offerings, helped me pick out music, showed us how to perform the Hindu Muspa prayers, and even loaned us some of their own clothing items to wear and offering bowls to use. I was very touched when all six of them attended the ceremony in full temple dress, even the night watchman Agung, who was clearly not on duty at 4:00 p.m.! They laughed and snapped pictures and generally seemed to be having as good a time as we were having, which made us even happier. They elevated our day from special to magical.

I would also like to extend a special thank-you to Pamela, the owner of Puri Naga Toya (and her husband), for making my decision to stay at Puri Naga Toya so easy. From my very first inquiry to her, Pamela responded incredibly quickly, suggesting people to contact and things to consider for our vow renewal ceremony, sharing her passion for Bali and her wealth of information about the island, communicating with the staff and driver service on our behalf, and overall doing whatever she could to ensure that our experience in Bali would be wonderful. She absolutely succeeded in that. Go to Bali, and when you do, stay at Puri Naga Toya – I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Linda N.
Stayed Jul 2014
Published Aug 14, 2014

Owner’s Response:

Dear Linda,

I was happy to hear how much you enjoyed our residence in the “Hill Country of Bali”! You inherited the experience of being served the Balinese people; and your review will certainly help to inform others of the feeling you get while staying at Puri Naga Toya. This is impossible to explain in photos.

Our home is unique, and was built to represent an Asian Pleasure Pavilion in the center of Bali. It’s filled with art, furniture and soft furnishings crafted in Bali or Southeast Asia. Everything works together to create a “comfortable and civilized” environment for our guests. It’s the experience of a life-time; and difficult to deliver in a five star environment.

Royal and I have lived such a privileged life in Asia and enjoy assisting our guests with the “secrets” Asia has to offer.

Come back to Bali, and hopefully on your next visit, we will meet each other in person. Please stay in touch!

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela, Royal, and the staff at Puri Naga Toya [Lisa and Katherine too}

★★★★★ 5/5 Paradise

The villa is stunning, the staff is welcoming, the environment amazing! With family and friends, we enjoyed very much the stay in the villa and will definitely return as soon as possible!

Anonymous
Stayed Feb 2014
Published Mar 14, 2014

★★★★★ 5/5 Another fantastic stay

We were very lucky to be able to spend another month at this fabulous Ubud area villa. Once again, we were well taken care of by Wayan, Made, Putu, Agung and Dolar. We love the villa but really rebooked because of the staff! They truly feel like family and at the end of our stay it was hard to say goodbye.

Delicious meals, peace and quiet, lovely gardens and mountain vistas that offer some gorgeous sunsets made it easy to spend most of our time right at the villa. We did enjoy the occasional dinner in Ubud, a visit to the John Hardy factory and a very special visit to the local village temple for a ceremony were some of our favorite outings.

No matter if your stay is long or short, this will be a holiday you will never forget.

Dianna and Gene

Dianna and Gene Brenham, Texas, USA
Stayed Feb 2014
Published Apr 3, 2014

Owner’s Response:

Thank you so much for your kind review. We do hope you will return; and Royal was glad he was able to meet you both during his visit in February! Warm wishes and safe travels home. Royal and Pamela Rowe

★★★★★ 5/5 Spectacular property in a pristine environment

The photos do not do Puri Naga Toya justice. We were a group of 8 who wanted an intimate villa for a 30th birthday celebration. From the moment we entered the front gate we were blown away. The kind staff, the scenery, the antiques are all spectacular. We literally went from room to room ooing and ahhhing at the beautiful furnishings and surroundings. We had a wonderful celebration the first night, Alit organised Balinese dancers to entertain my guests and the staff cooked a Balinese buffet which was delicious and really affordable – highly recommend doing the same. We organised a bartender to mix cocktails and it was a spectacular to have a drink while watching the sun set over the valley with my family and friends. The villa is the perfect spot to relax and unwind, it is well maintained, peaceful, with amazing views of the valley, filled with beautiful antiques. Just a walk away are beautiful rice fields and villages. The only downside is it quite a way out of Ubud and a few drivers got lost so may not be suited to those wanting to spend a lot of time in Ubud city centre. Staying here was definitely the highlight of my holiday – I wish we stayed longer. – Nicola

nicola e.
Stayed Jul 2013
Published Jul 27, 2013

Owner’s Response:

Thank you Nicola! As it would be hard to compete with your beautiful photography, I do understand that my photos cannot reflect the “lovely feeling” you get while staying at our home. We tried to give you this in the UTube video, but of course it’s a matter of feeling the elements for yourself that make the difference.

I did understand that you had 14 or more at your party; and the drivers were arranged by other sources. In the future, I highly recommend asking Alit, our manager to arrange transportation with drivers who are familiar with our area; or, just meet at one destination and caravan up to the house together.

Most drivers know where the Ubud Hanging Garden Hotel is- and we are only 8.7 kilometers away from the hotel; and a block away from the Awan Biru Boutique Villa.

Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope you will return again.

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela

★★★★★ 5/5 Paradise is an understatement!

My wife and I came upon this villa by chance, and are SO glad we did. We spent a week in absolute luxury at Puri Naga Toya. If you are even halfway considering coming to Bali and staying here- Let me make the decision easy on you: STAY HERE! Paradise is one word for this place, but it just doesn’t do it justice. The staff all went out of their way to make sure we had absolutely everything we could desire. A beer on the patio after lunch? No problem. Some tea before dinnner? Of course! Speaking of “dinner”, the food at this villa is 5 star quality. Wayan was kind enough to teach us how she makes (one of our favorite dishes) Nasi Goreng, or traditional Balinese fried rice. The mango pancakes are the stuff of dreams. We loved lazy afternoons by the pool and watching the rain roll by on the patio of the master suite.

I could write on for pages singing the praises of this villa and its staff, but it would never be adequate to describe the absolute magic you will experience once here. My wife and I spent a week here and wish it was a month. The only question left isn’t “if” we will return, but “when?” and “who to bring with us?”

Thank you all for a truly memorable stay, this was the trip of a lifetime and we will remember it for the rest of our lives. Special thanks to the staff, Wayan, Made, Putu, Dolar, Agung, and Alit for making us feel like family. You will all be missed just as much as the beautiful views and gorgeous house.

Anonymous
Stayed May 2013
Published May 31, 2013

Owner’s Response:

We all want to thank you for your kind words. Please come back again! From the staff and owners- Thank you for visiting Bali and staying at Puri Naga Toya!

Warm tropical regards,

Pamela

★★★★★ 5/5 Exceptional home. Exceptional staff and hosts

This mountain retreat is exquisitely decorated and very comfortable and the location is perfect for exploring Bali. The staff was gracious and very attentive.The meals were wonderful too.Daily massages and yoga were arranged at the house for us. What a treat. We liked it so much that we wanted to extend our stay, but someone else discovered this magical home and would be arriving after our departure. When we return to bali, we will return to purinagatoya!

beth black r. Brooklyn, New York
Stayed May 2013
Published Jun 13, 2013

Owner’s Response:

Thank you so much for staying at Puri Naga Toya! We hope you enjoy your holiday in Bali and will return soon.

Warm regards,

Pamela

★★★★★ 5/5 The Best of Bali...

We spent one month enjoying all that Puri Naga Toya had to offer. The house, the furnishings, the vistas, the gardens and most of all the staff made this stay beyond magical. Alit, Wayan, Made, Putu, Agung and Dolar will always be remembered as a very special part of this holiday. We enjoyed walking in the local villages, dinner at Bridges in Ubud, Paon Cooking School but most of all, we simply enjoyed our days in the villa being well taken care of by the wonderful staff. We could not have asked for more. We wanted peace and quiet but if you want activity and outings, all you have to do is ask and it will be arranged. If you want to be in the middle of crowds of people and lots and lots of activity, this is not the villa for you. If you want to take a breath, relax, eat wonderful local fare that is freshly prepared to your liking, more relaxing, a well stocked library, more relaxing…then you have found your bit of heaven. They serve mango pancakes for breakfast in heaven……

Dianna and Gene

Brenham, Texas, USA

Dianna and GeneBrenham, Texas, USA
Stayed Feb 2013
Published Mar 9, 2013

★★★★★ 5/5 amazing

we had a really relaxing holiday at this house. the views are amazing, quiet breakfast on the lawn looking over an almost jurassic park like jungle in the distance, not a house in site. beautiful walks, fresh air, and a much better weather and insect situation than on the coast. cool evenings, warm days and no mosquitos!

staff were warm and very helpful. manager picked us up from Ubud.

Great place for a real relaxing calm holiday far away from the crazy beach side of bali.

tim hong kong
Stayed Sep 2012
Published Oct 12, 2012

★★★★★ 5/5 Exceeded our expectations

A beautiful villa in a peaceful location in the mountains with the most amazing view we’d ever seen.

The staff are very friendly and readily available to cook delicious meals and help with organizing activities and transportation.

We definitely hope to return.

Just a word of warning…dress warm. it is cool but refreshing in the mountains in the evening.

sarah k.
Stayed Aug 2012
Published Aug 12, 2012

★★★★★ 5/5 Wonderful Villa

We had a magical stay at this exquisite villa. The setting is rural, quiet and beautiful; the villa is gorgeous and as described. We made good use of the swimming pool. The staff could not be kinder or more helpful. The driver (Nyoman) retained by the manager for us took us to places we never would have seen or discovered on our own, and he was wonderfully informative and patient. My only regret is that Bali is so compelling and interesting that we did not spend enough time just idle at the villa.

A highlight was a Balinese birthday ritual at the villa for our 12 month granddaughter, complete with priest, offerings and traditional dancers. This we will never forget!

Anonymous
Stayed Dec 2011
Published Jan 4, 2012

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.